Twenty Two Things

Twenty-Two Things

In honor of my birthday, I have created a list of twenty two things I am thankful for (and in no particular order).

  1. Right before I hang up the phone with my Ma, she always declares ‘I love you’ in the most sincere voice possible. It chokes me up every time.
  2. For my father humoring me every time I picked up a new hobby.
  3. For my parents teaching me that my voice is the most powerful instrument I will ever own and no one has the right to silence it.
  4. For every novel I have ever read that has changed my outlook on life (or my life in general). Thank you Rowling, Salinger and Bradbury.
  5. For being a Tar-Heel, and the thrill I receive each time I reread my journal entry that proclaims, “I WILL GET INTO CAROLINA!”
  6. For my brother, who finds a way to always understand and support me.
  7. For waking up each morning to a ‘Good Morning love’ text from my best friend.
  8. For penguins and pandas. They always make me smile.
  9. For Chicago and everything that comes with it (mm…pizza).
  10. For mastering the art of surrounding myself with some of the greatest people on this planet.
  11. For the weather at this exact moment. Cold, and cloudy — quintessentially fall.
  12. For J – who has been by my side for ten years.
  13. For K- who has introduced me to hockey and everything else that is good in this world.
  14. For L- who has taught me to embrace every awkward moment and cherish it.
  15. For SN – for loving me, no questions asked.
  16. For SP – for challenging my views and telling me when I’m wrong (ha!)
  17. For A- for showing me all the bits and pieces my life had (has)  been missing.
  18. For the list above – they are the greatest people I have ever met. All credit goes to them.
  19. For my grandma, who is the greatest and most influential person I have ever met. I strive to be half as great as you.
  20. For having the ability to tell everyone I love that I love them as many times as I possibly desire.
  21. For my father taking me around Europe and South America and for the moments I experienced.
  22. And most importantly, for having this life and everything that is to follow. x

Leave a comment